The Location, Population and Political Stands of Iran
iran map

In this part, you will be familiar with the political and governing atmosphere of the country and its social and economic relations to some extent. Honesty is the base in all the provided information and an abstract information suitable for traveling to Iran is given.

Iran is located in the Middle East. Its formal name is the Islamic Republic of Iran and is called Iran in abbreviation. Iran adjoins the Persian Gulf and Sea of Oman in the south and is the neighbor of three countries of Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan Republic, Armenia and Nakhichevan (east to west) in the north. Afghanistan and Pakistan are its neighbors in the east and Iraq and Turkey are its western neighbors. The big Caspian Sea is located in the north of Iran. The regimen of Iran is Islamic Republic, the name that was official after the revolution of 1979 and the referendum of 1980. The Iranian revolution was against Pahlavi dynasty during the reign of Mohammad Reza Shah. The revolution with the leadership of Imam Khomeini ended in victory.

The Supreme leader holds the highest governing status in the official and political system of Iran and is appointed by a council, called Assembly of Experts. The members of this council are chosen by peoples’ votes in an election that is held every four years throughout the country. The present Supreme leader of Iran is Ayatollah Khamenei. After the death of Khomeini in 1990 he was elected as the Supreme Leader of Iran by the Assembly of Experts.

Iran is governed by three major authorities. Executive (the Government), Legislature (the Parliament) and Judicial.

The president is elected during an election that is held every four years by people.

The representatives choose the head of the Parliament and the representatives themselves are elected by peoples’ votes from each region of the country. At the starting point of each Parliament, the representatives are required to choose the head who is called the head of the Legislative authority.

The head of judicial authority is appointed and employed by the Supreme Leader.

The country divisions of Iran from the biggest to the smallest part include provinces, districts, rural districts, cities and villages[1].

Most populated cities based on the 2016 census is as follows:

Tehran with a population of 8.693.706

Mashhad with a population of 3.001.184

Isfahan with a population of 1.961.260

Karaj with a population of 1.592.492

Shiraz holds the fifth rank of population, Kerman the fourteenth and Yazd holds the fifteenth. The least populated city of the country is Qir in Fars Province.



Leave a reply

Subscribe to Gate of Nations now!

Stay updated on the latest Locofy announcements and product updates

Other blog

with our daily blog articles get to know our features and know more about our destinations their sightseeing